What documents do I need to visit Panama?

To enter Panama, all foreign nationals will need a passport that is valid for at least six months from their date of entry. Tourists will also need proof of having at least US$500 (a bank statement, credit card, or travelers checks will work) and a return/onward ticket out of Panama.

Citizens of the following countries only need a passport (and not a visa) to enter Panama: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Singapore, Taiwan, and the United States.

Citizens of other countries will need a visa to enter Panama. There are two types of visas, “stamped visas” and “authorized visas.” Stamped visas allow travelers to enter Panama multiple times over the course of a year. They are only available through a Panamanian consulate or embassy, and the length of stay is usually 30 days per visit. Citizens of the following countries are required to have a stamped visa: the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Georgia, Peru, Russia, Ukraine, Vietnam, and Zimbabwe.

Citizens of some countries are required to get an authorized visa. This kind of visa is more restrictive than stamped visas and are only available through a Panamanian consulate or embassy. Countries in the Middle East, Africa, eastern Europe, and Asia may need this type of visa.

All of these lists, however, can change, so it’s best to check with your embassy for current requirements.

The Best of


Trustpilot 5-star rated

Find inspiration by browsing our curated vacation collections.


Top 5 Reasons Why Travelers Love Booking Trips with Anywhere

Jan 2020
With all the online booking resources available on the internet, why book with Anywhere?
Continue reading...