What Is Ecuador's Currency?

Ecuador's currency is the U.S. dollar. The old currency, known as the sucre, stopped being used in 2000. Travelers from the U.S. won't have to exchange money when visiting Ecuador. Ecuadorian coins have different symbols but are of equivalent value to U.S. coins — there are nickels, dimes, quarters, and half dollars. You may have difficulty breaking larger bills in smaller towns. If possible, bring smaller bills to rural areas.

The Best of


Trustpilot 5-star rated

Find inspiration by browsing our curated vacation collections.


Top 5 Reasons Why Travelers Love Booking Trips with Anywhere

Jan 2020
With all the online booking resources available on the internet, why book with Anywhere?
Continue reading...