Islands of Ecuador

Ecuador’s crown jewel is by far the island chain of the Galápagos — a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is home to a population of plants and animals unlike anything else on the entire planet. Even more miraculous is the fact that the animals here are used to human visitors, and don't mind sharing their beaches. This means that you'll have ample opportunity to observe the amazing wildlife up-close (from a respectful distance, of course).

Santa Cruz Ecuador
Santa Cruz


Of course, Santa Cruz has plenty to offer all on its own. There’s a beautiful beach on Tortuga Bay. Follow a trail through the lava tunnels and pay a visit to the Charles Darwin Research Station.

You can find beautiful waterfront hotels that allow you to take in the tropical atmosphere or stay in one of the more remote hotels in the lush highlands.

San Cristóbal Ecuador
San Cristóbal


Snorkelers and birdwatchers have plenty to do on a trip to this easternmost Galápagos island. Travel a short distance from the coast to León Dormido, a rocky formation that attracts a stunning variety of wildlife. Visit the Rosa Blanca Bay to see clear waters and a beautiful beach. This is one of the best places on the island to snorkel and see sharks and rays.

San Cristóbal has its share of interesting beaches. Near the town, you can visit a rocky coastline where you can find sea lions. San Cristóbal has a stunning landscape around the Punta Pucuna Beach, which has several memorable volcanic cones. Cerro Brujo Beach is famous for its coral sand beaches and also has great snorkeling.