How Many Volcanoes Are There in Costa Rica?

Costa Rica sits on top of the Ring of Fire, a zone characterized by several shifting tectonic plates. These shifts result in volcanic activity. Currently, five volcanoes are steadily active, including Poás, Irazú, Turrialba, Arenal and Rincón de La Vieja. Other notable volcanoes include the Tenorio, Miravalles, Cerro Chato, and Barva volcanoes.